Testy Copy Editors

Our new website is up and running at testycopyeditors.org. This board will be maintained as an archive. Please visit the new site and register. Direct questions to the proprietor, blanp@testycopyeditors.org
It is currently Sun May 12, 2024 7:43 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ] 
 Post subject: Frustration -- a newbie's rant
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2002 4:16 pm 

I hope this isn't out of line for a relative newcomer who mostly just lurks, but I might pop if I don't talk about this, and to someone who understands.<p>I've lately had a sinking feeling that I've chosen the wrong career -- or at least the wrong job. I've been a features copy editor for a largish Midwestern paper (Gannett-owned) since I graduated from college four years ago. I don't work nights, weekends or holidays, and I make a decent salary with so-so benefits.<p>I know this is a sweet deal, but I hate it here.<p>I swear the other three copy editors on my desk hardly read the stories they edit. (I have to believe this, because they miss so much that the only other option is that they're brain-damaged.) My editor is a nice guy but a terrible manager: I get almost no feedback (other than the very occasional "good hed" or "I rewrote that cutline"), and while he's a very accomplished copy editor himself, he has yet to share any of that knowledge with me.<p>I'm bored and I'm stagnating. I doubt my skills have improved since I was in college -- in fact, I wouldn't be surprised if they were worse now. I've been trying to read books on copy editing and stay in touch with other copy editors online, but I find that it's very tough to improve my work when I get no outside feedback.<p>And despite the vitriol I'm spewing, I'm normally a fairly positive person. I take feedback well, and I think I'm an easy person to work with.<p>The obvious answer here would be, "Go to another paper," but my fiance has a